TRIP PROGRAMME 

 

Changes to tramps will be notified on the club website and the club secretary will email these if advised in time. The trip coordinator should also be advised of proposed changes or additions to the programme or if a tramp doesn’t happen because of bad weather, poor numbers etc. Tramp descriptions, maps and downloadable GPS data for most tramps, but not all, are located on the club website.

 

Start times for tramps are 7.30 am on Wednesday and 8.00 am on Thursday, unless noted otherwise under the particular tramp. The van will leave promptly at the appointed time. The letter in brackets, for example. (A), relates to the van recovery rate.

 

Fitness/Trip Grading                                                                                              

Easy: A tramp on fairly level formed tracks, duration 4+ hours, and where there is usually the  option of returning by the same track.                                            

Moderate: A tramp of 4 – 6 hours, often on less well formed tracks or on off-track routes, can involve river crossings or short sections of steep terrain.                     

Fit: Can be over 6 hours duration, tramping on either formed tracks or off track routes, river crossings, steep terrain, snow conditions or high altitudes.

 

SEPTEMBER

Wed Sept 29

Te Whare Okioki Hut , TeTuhi            Kaimai Range       BD36    Mod     ( B )

Bernie Hammersley      377 4081     0274 866 783

 

Thurs Sept 30

Scoria Flat to Mangahuia Campsite   TNP   BJ34    Mod (A)

Carroll  Roberston   377 0471   027 419 6274 van mover please

 

OCTOBER

 

Wed Oct 6

Botanical ID Wander    Waihaha Hut track   Pureora BG34,35   Easy   ( A )

The track has a very diverse range of native birds, flora and fauna, worthwhile to stop and compare with others. Bring your books and /or queries , share your knowledge.

Celia and Brian Bockett     377 8589     027 343 4769

 

Thurs Oct 7

Martin, Sash and Door    TNP  BJ 33,34   Mod (A)

Donna Gordon     027 919 9191

 

Friday Oct 8 – Tuesday Oct 12

Lake Waikaremoana         Refer to ‘Forthcoming Trips’

Elsie Skelton     376 7332      027 353 3617   

 

Friday Oct 8

Taupo Tramping Club Winter Social night 

Taupo Cosmopolitan Club from 5pm 

                  

Wed Oct 13

Rainbow Mountain         Mod   ( A )           

Casey Bainbridge  0273783431

 

Thurs Oct 14

Whakaipo Bay to Lookout     Easy/Mod   (A)

Celia and Brian Bockett     377 8589   027 343 4769

Tues Oct 19

TTC Committee Meeting 7pm

Jean Caulton    021 044 1102 

 

Wed Oct 20

Mangatepopo Valley, Sth Crater/beyond, return     TNP  BH34 Mod  (A) 

Sandy Fletcher   3774081   021 753 393

 

Thurs Oct 21

Waiorongomai      BC35       Mod   ( B )

Gill Tate      378 2626     027 443 0531

 

Sat Oct 23 – Wed Oct 27

Taranaki 5 day Bike Tour   Wait list only

Bernie Hammersley   377 4081   0274 866 783      

 

Wed Oct 27

Kinloch Trails   Take own cars to Kinloch.   Easy

Jean Caulton    021 044 1120

 

Thurs Oct 28

Kinloch to Kawakawa Bay      easy/mod    ( A )

Leader to be advised, names to Lyndsay Benefield.   378 5729   021 100 3245

 

 

NOVEMBER

 

Wed Nov 3

Ngapuketurua   Kaimanawa Forest Park   BH36   Mod  ( A )

Elsie Skelton     376 7332     027 353 3617 ( permission HeliSika granted)

 

Thurs Nov 4

Arahaki Lagoon & Sanctuary    Minginui  BG38   Easy/Mod   ( B )

Jan Smith      378 6267       027  434  3790

 

Wed Nov 10

Zekes Hut    BK35  Waiouru        Mod+   ( B ) 

Dave Wilding          027 376 6313

 

Thurs Nov 11

Silica Rapids     TNP           Mod      ( A )

Lyndsay Benefield        378 5729      021 100 3245

                                   

Fri Nov 12- Sun Nov 14

Ohope Beach Escape    ( wait list only )

Sarah Hart  021 850 146                                                                   

 

Wed Nov 17

Pehitawa Track  Te Kuiti BF 33   Mod  ( B )     ( van mover please)

Tobi Ani    022 352 8393

 

Thurs Nov 18

Arataki Loop Road       Pureora   BF35     Mod   ( A )

Dick Fraser      027 457 9022

 

Sat Nov 20

Timbertrail Bike Ride   Pureora to PiroPiro Flats   40km    ( B ) plus trailer $10 pp

 Depart 7.30am   Load bikes 7am 

Bernie Hammersley   377 4081   0274 866 783     

 

Wed Nov 24

Chateau to Desert Rd  TNP  Mod+   ( A )    ( van mover please )

Graham  Robertson       021 936 994

 

Thurs Nov 25

Waihaha Hut     Pureora  BG34,35     Mod    ( A )

Jan Harding.   378 8483     027 441 8298

 

Mon Nov 29

Trip Planning Meeting  7pm

Sandy Fletcher     377 4081    021 753 393

 

 

DECEMBER

 

 Wed Dec 1

Skips Hut and beyond    Whirinaki BG 38   Mod    ( B )    

Lindsay Brown   021 989 545

 

Thurs Dec 2

Vern’s Clearing       Whirinaki        BG38      Mod   ( B )

Peter Smith         378 6267           027 434 3790

 

Wed Dec 8

Whakapapa to Mangatepopo      TNP  BH 35  Mod   ( A )    ( van mover please )

Ross Fletcher      3786670     021 0852 5790

 

Thurs Dec 9

Rangipo Hut     TNP           Mod          ( A )

Sarah Bloomer       377 0896     027 693 3709                                                                       

 

Sat Dec 11

Bike Ride Atiamuri to Whakamaru Village  ride 23.5km, lunch and then return    ( A ) plus $10 trailer

Depart 8am.  This ride would suit unpowered bikes. Take own car option.

Bernie Hammersley    377 4081     027 486  6783

 

Wed Dec 15

Maungatautari Sth Entrance    BE34    Easy/Mod    ( A )

Dave Wilding                   027 376 6313

 

Thurs Dec 16

Mt Pureora via Red Shed to Link Rd         BG35,BF35     Mod    ( A )

Val Wilkinson         072 160 470      021  278  0007

 

JANUARY  2022

 

Wed Jan 5

Tongariro National Park   A wander on the Mountain

Bernie Hammersley    377 4081     027 486 6783

 

Wed Jan 12   Depart 7am

Otanewainuku Ridge , Whataroa Falls   Te Puke   BD37, BE37   Mod +   ( B )

Bernie Hammersley    377 4081     027 486  6783                             ( van mover please )

 

Thurs Jan 13

Lake Okareka/Blue Lake         Rotorua        Mod     ( A )

Carroll  Robertson              377 0471        027  419  6274

 

Van Recovery Rates:

 A Trips: Up to 260km round-trip – minimum rate is equivalent of seven persons @ $10/per person ($70), with same cost for Turangi and Taupo members no matter where pick-up might be.

 B Trips: Between 260 - 375km round-trip – minimum rate is equivalent of seven persons @ $15 ($105) with the same cost for Turangi and Taupo members no matter where pick-up might be.

 C Trips: Over 375km round-trip – no minimum number of passengers and at $0.70 per km. Trip leader calculates cost as total km X $0.70 and divides total cost by number of participants to get individual contributions.