top of page

TRIP PROGRAMME 

 

Changes to tramps will be notified on the club website and the club secretary will email these if advised in time. The trip coordinator should also be advised of proposed changes or additions to the programme or if a tramp doesn’t happen because of bad weather, poor numbers etc. Tramp descriptions, maps and downloadable GPS data for most tramps, but not all, are located on the club website.

 

Start times for tramps are 7.30 am on Wednesday and 8.00 am on Thursday, unless noted otherwise under the particular tramp. The van will leave promptly at the appointed time. The letter in brackets, for example. (A), relates to the van recovery rate.

 

Fitness/Trip Grading                                                                                              

Easy: A tramp on fairly level formed tracks, duration 4+ hours, and where there is usually the  option of returning by the same track.                                            

Moderate: A tramp of 4 – 6 hours, often on less well formed tracks or on off-track routes, can involve river crossings or short sections of steep terrain.                     

Fit: Can be over 6 hours duration, tramping on either formed tracks or off track routes, river crossings, steep terrain, snow conditions or high altitudes.

TTC TRAMP PROGRAM 

DECEMBER 2023

 

Wed Dec 13 Stanton Memorial T N P From ‘The Bruce‘ carpark, an adventure circuit. Mod+ ( A ) Names to Sandy Fletcher 021 753 393 Leader Doug Papps van mover please

 

Thurs Dec 14 Urchin campsite to Three Sisters return K F P Mod ( A ) Lyndsay Benefield 021 100 3245

 

JANUARY 2024

 

Wed Jan 10 Matakuhia Hut/track BG38/39 Mod+ ( A ) Bernie Hammersley 0274 866 783

 

Thurs Jan 11 ‘The Quarry’ KFP Clements Mill Rd Mod ( A ) Celia and Brian Bockett 027 343 4769

JANUARY 2024

 

Wed Jan 10 Matakuhia Hut/track BG38/39 Mod+ ( A ) Bernie Hammersley 0274 866 783

 

Thurs Jan 11 ‘The Quarry’ KFP Clements Mill Rd Mod ( A ) Celia and Brian Bockett 027 343 4769

 

Wed Jan 17 Mangaehuehu Hut TNP Mod+ ( B ) Dave Wilding 027 376 6313 txt is best

 

Thurs Jan 18 Waihohonu Hut and Springs TNP Mod ( A ) Sarah Bloomer 027 693 3709

 

Wed Jan 24 Te Tuhi Track Loop Kaimai Ranges Mod+/Hard ( B ) Leader to be advised van mover please

 

Thur Jan 25 Wairere Falls Kaimai Ranges Mod+ ( B ) Helen Bosch 027 517 3227

 

Wed Jan 31 Waitara Rd off SH5 Abandoned Mine - all above ground ! Easy/Mod ( B ) Bernie Hammersley 0274 866 783                                                       

                                                             

FEBRURARY 2024

 

Thurs Feb 1 Jones Landing return including Rhubarb Café Mod ( B ) Donna Gordon 027 919 9191

 

Wed Feb 7 Western Okataina. from Ruato to Lake Okareka Mod and Easy Option ( A ) Dave Wilding 027 376 6313 txt is best van mover please

 

Thur Feb 8 Hinemaia River to Dam along riverbank. Mod ( A ) Celia and Brian Bockett 027 343 4769

 

Fri Feb 9 Wairarapa 5 day Wairarapa Tramps to Tues Feb 13

Refer Forthcoming Adventures. Jill Wilding 027 740 4433

 

Wed 14 Feb - no tramp

 

Thur Feb 15 Turoa Spurt TNP A Ramble through a Unique Geological area. Easy/Mod ( B ) Sarah Hart 021 850 146

 

Wed Feb 21 Morangi Helipad Minginui BG38 Mod/Hard ( B ) Lindsay Brown 021 989 545

 

Thur Feb 22 Pureora to Red Shed Mod ( A ) Lynda Riha 021 026 49756

 

Wed Feb 28 Silica Rapids TNP Mod ( A )

 

Thur Feb 29 Waihaha to Waihora Mod + ( A ) Extra cost for water taxi Donna Gordon 027 919 9191

 

MARCH 2024

 

Wed March 6 Taranaki Falls – Wairere Stream Loop TNP Mod ( A ) Leader to be advised

 

Thur March 7 Kinloch Stream Waterwheel/Otaketake Loop Mod ( A ) Leader to be advised

 

Wed March 13 Turoa Spurt: A more robust Ramble through a Unique Geological Area Mod ( B ) Sarah Hart 021 850 146

 

Thurs March 14 Pillars of Hercules Car Park , walk downstream & return. KFP Mod ( A ) Leader to be advised

 

Wed March 20 Mt Tihia SouthWest of Turangi Mod ( A ) Sandy Fletcher 021 753 393

Thurs March 21 Old Karangahake Hall to Waihi Mod ( B ) bring a torch Donna Gordon 027 919 9191 van mover please

 

Wed March 27 Mt Pureora from Link Rd & out on Timber Trail Mod ( A ) Elsie Skelton 027 353 3617                        

Thur March 28 Silica Rapids and Whakapanui Track TNP Mod ( A ) Carroll Robertson 027 419 6274

 

APRIL 2024

 

Wed April 3 Taumarunui Hikurangi Mod ( B ) ( permission required ) Elsie Skelton 027 353 3617

 

Thur April 4 Mt Urchin Kaimanawa Forest Park Mod+ ( A ) Lyndsay Benefield 021 100 3245

 

Wed April 10 Mt Pihanga Turangi Mod + ( A ) ( permission required ) Bernie Hammersley 027 486 6783

 

Thur April 11 Maraetai Dam to Waipapa Waikato River Trails Mod and Easy option ( A ) Donna Gordon 027 919 9191 van mover please

                                     

FORTHCOMING ADVENTURES

WAIRARAPA TRIP February 9- 14, 2024.

Day 1: Manawatu Gorge Loop Walk – 2 hours.

Accommodation - Masterton.

Day 2: Mount Holdsworth Summit. - 18km return. Moderate.

Accommodation – Masterton.

Day 3: Putangirua Pinnacles- 7 km.

Ngawai. Cape Palliser Lighthouse.

Accommodation – Martinborough.

Day 4: Patuna Chasm. - 3 hours. Private land, $45 pp. Need to book.

Lake Ferry Wetlands. Onoke Spit.

Accommodation - Martinborough.

Day 5: Travel back to Taupo.

Pukaha National Wildlife Centre. Loop track 4km. $20 entry fee.

Van Cost- About $75 pp based on 10 people.

Accommodation – About $300 pp. (Difficult to calculate until I know how many couples /singles.)               

Contact   Jill Wilding 027 740 4433

 

                                                                                     

Van Recovery Rates:

 A Trips: Up to 260km round-trip – minimum rate is equivalent of seven persons @ $10/per person ($70), with same cost for Turangi and Taupo members no matter where pick-up might be.

 B Trips: Between 260 - 375km round-trip – minimum rate is equivalent of seven persons @ $15 ($105) with the same cost for Turangi and Taupo members no matter where pick-up might be.

 C Trips: Over 375km round-trip – no minimum number of passengers and at $0.70 per km. Trip leader calculates cost as total km X $0.70 and divides total cost by number of participants to get individual contributions.

bottom of page